Removing historical barriers, the 3 founders of NExT are: the University of Nantes, the Nantes University Hospital and Inserm.

The University of Nantes

Founded in 1962, the University of Nantes is a multi-disciplinary university, including medical and engineering schools. It includes 15 faculties, an engineering school and a Sciences of the Universe Observatory as well as 64 accredited research units. With almost 37,000 students registered for the year 2014-2015, the University of Nantes brings together 53% of students in the Loire region and 70% of students in Nantes. With an international profile, every year the University of Nantes welcomes 3,600 foreign students.

The Nantes University Hospital

A public hospital, the Nantes University Hospital has been powerfully committed to a policy for the promotion of biomedical research for 20 years. Today it is one of the 10 University Hospital Centres counted as “highly committed to research”. At the national level, the Nantes CHU is classed in 8th place for scientific publications (national SIGAPS classification 2012) and in 5th place for clinical trials.

Institut national de la santé et de la recherche médicale

A leader in European biomedical research, INSERM is the only French public research institute to concentrate entirely on human health. INSERM has responsibility for strategic scientific and operational co-ordination of biomedical research at the national level.

Another 5 institutions -Mines Nantes, Oniris, ICO, IFSTTAR and INRA- are partners of the initiative and will contribute to the project mainly in research and transfer. They will contribute to the implementation and governance of NExT. NExT partners obviously collaborate with other institutions, affiliated to research and educational activities, with the purpose of disciplinary enlargement and reinforcement of instrumental or applied research. These external partners will be involved, where relevant, in NExT actions and will be part of the Steering Committee. CNRS, external partner to the NExT project will have a seat in the Steering Committee.


INRA is a national public research institute dedicated to agricultural science (agriculture, food and nutrition, food safety, environment and land management with regard to sustainable development).


ONIRIS (National College of Veterinary Medicine, Food Science and Engineering) is a public scientific, cultural and professional institution. It trains engineers for food industry and engineering of health biotechnology. ONIRIS has 14 research units (3 are operated jointly with INRA).


IMT Atlantique is a “Grande Ecole” specializing in digital technology, energy and the environment. Mines Nantes and Telecom Bretagne chosen to join forces by creating a new school under the aegis of the Ministry of industry and the digital sector. Our ambition : to combine digital technology and energy  to transform society and industry through education, research and innovation. 3 campuses : Brest, Nantes, Rennes and  1 centre in Toulouse. 2,300 students including 1,400 engineering students and 300 doctoral students.  A new and unique broad-based engineering course, organized  on several sites. Other courses: MSc, masters, engineering apprenticeships, doctorates.


Institut de Cancérologie de l’Ouest (ICO) is a private non-profit hospital specialized in cancer treatment which carries out prevention, care, teaching and research activities. ICO has 1,230 professionals, including 164 doctors, researchers, pharmacists and biologists.


French institute of Sciences and Technology for transport, development and networks (IFSTTAR) is a major player in the European research on the city and the territories, transportation and civil engineering. IFSTTAR is a Public Scientific and Technical Institution.